Trust Leadership


Ms Alison Russell-French OA – President and Chair

Alison is currently a part time consultant working in the area of environment, conservation and nature resource management. She is currently President of the Canberra Ornithological Group (COG) and Chair of the Australasian Wader Studies Group. Previously she was a career Public Servant for 32 years joining the Australian Public Service in 1974 and retiring in 2006. She was a member of the Senior Executive Public Service for 10 years from 1996- 2006. Her APS career spanned a wide range of policy development and program implementation, delivery and administration across environment and conservation, heritage, natural resource and fisheries management areas.

Mr Peter Taylor – Deputy Chair

Peter Taylor has spent more than three decades promoting, establishing and managing a wide range protected areas throughout Australia.  Much his early work centred around developing early Federal policy on utilising Indigenous knowledge to support cultural and natural resource management in National Parks and on Indigenous owned land.  His work also involved the establishment of unique multiple use marine protected areas both off the Australian coastline and in far off regions such as the Sub-Antarctic. Much of this work involved partnering with commercial marine industries to support outcomes that were meaningful for conservation. Peter then furthered this work with Australian governments and NGOs to establish terrestrially based private and public protected reserves.

In retirement Peter continues to passionately promote the role of community leadership in public and private partnerships to achieve long term and sustainable catchment wide conservation outcomes. Peter believes that governments, community and landholders have a mutual responsibility to protect and manage our natural and cultural resources for our future prosperity.

jerrabombra wetlands 2015 lo res-3203 (1)

Mr Mark Butz – Chair of the Mulligans Flat Committee

Mr Ian Lawrence – Chair of the Jerra Wetlands Advisory Panel

Ian is an engineer, scientist & planner with 57 years of experience in water infrastructure design and development, water resources planning, water quality assessment and management, and water quality & ecology research. He has held a wide range of appointments including Water Resources Planner for the ACT, ACT Environmental Assessment Officer, Member AWRC Water Quality Advisory Committee, AWA Federal Councillor, and Leader of the Urban Water Research Program of the CRC for Freshwater Ecology.

Professor Adrian Manning

Adrian is a Professor at the Fenner School of Environment and Society, The Australian National University, with research interests in conservation biology, landscape ecology and restoration ecology, and has published widely in these areas. He is the Chief Investigator of the Mulligans Flat-Goorooyarroo Woodland Experiment, he played a key role in the establishment of the Mulligans Flat Woodland Sanctuary, and was instrumental in the reintroduction of the Eastern Bettong to the sanctuary.

Ms Jenny Bounds – Public Officer

Jenny is a non-professional ornithologist with a particular interest in woodland birds having monitored birds at Mulligans Flat for the Canberra Ornithologists. She is a active community participant in community conservation activities.

Mr Daniel Iglesias – Director Parks and Conservation

Daniel is the Director of the ACT Parks and Conservation Agency, the leading public reserve managers in the country.  He has more than 35 years experience in Parks and Conservation and is a former manager of Mulligans Flat.